Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,198   Posts: 1,531,454   Online: 837

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Another new guy

Shooter
    35mm

Another new guy

Hey all! I am actually fairly new to the whole photography realm. I am looking for a good entry level film cam that I can afford. There is quite a few that I am interested in. My name is Jesse and am mostly interested in outdoor/nature photography. The thing that throws me the most are the lenses. The most common slr's with lenses seem to be 28mm-80mm. Is that a good all around lense for what I am wanting to do? What else should I be looking at?Looking forward to alot of great info!
    Thanks,
    Jesse

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Jesse - welcome to APUG from western Massachusetts USA. 28 - 80 is a common zoom lens with most SLRs. For more optimum results you may want a prime lens, a 28mm, 35mm, 50mm etc. And which one will depend on your shooting style or tastes.
    Good luck.

gene
    gene LaFord

Long live Ed "Big Daddy" Roth!!
    ---------------------------------------------------------------------
    "I don't care about Milwaukee or Chicago." - Yvon LeBlanc

Shooter
    35mm
    Hi Jesse,

Welcome to APUG.

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Images
    Hey Jesse. Welcome from the frozen Canadian prairies
    "While you're out there smashing the state, don't forget to keep a smile on your lips and a song in your heart!"

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Hello from Richmond Va. I agree with papagene. You can use a good wide angle prime lens for landscape and could go for a good prime tele lens for birds etc. But it depends on what you like.

Jeff

Shooter
    35mm