Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 71,545   Posts: 1,572,864   Online: 978

Shooter
    35mm

Looking for genuine feedback

hello, I'm an American amateur photographer living in Bangkok, Thailand. I'm looking for some genuine, honest feedback on my work. Any advice or suggestions, good or bad, are welcome. Here is my link:

www.andymayphotography.com

Just so you know, this is not a cheap attempt to get you to look at ads, increase my hits, or sell you anything, it's just my personal website displaying my photos.

your help is appreciated,

Andy

Shooter
    8x10 Format
    Images
    Hi Andy. I'm by no means an expert in anything photographic but since you asked, I'll give you my initial impressions. You seem to have a much stronger connection to your portraits than the other images on your site. They have emotion and focus (NPI) that I don't feel in some of your other shots. Also, I would recommend, as gently as I can, that you edit the images you are showing. Be as honest as you can and try having this conversation with yourself, "Is this image here because it's a picture of a really awesome "thing (whatever it may be)" or because it's a really awesome picture. I liken it to either being a tour guide or an artist, and perhaps you want to accomplish both. For me, it was just too many images to go through to find the gems that I really wanted to look at. I hope this helps.

Tori

Shooter
    4x5 Format
    Blog Entries
    Images
    Hi, Andy. I don't normally do these kinds of things but I thought I might make an exception this one time. I went to your sight. Easy to navigate and well laid out.

As to the photographs.

Your images seem to be technically proficient. Not much unnecessary clutter or distraction that I could see. As Tori wrote, good focus in your wrok. Particularly in your Ayutthaya, Thailand collection, IMHO.