Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 69,755   Posts: 1,515,992   Online: 887

Shooter
    Medium Format

Introduction - Greetings from Detroit, Michigan!

Hello APUG,

I wanted to introduce myself, I am a photographer located just outside of Detroit, Michigan. My focus is on documentary and commercial photography but I have a soft spot for world portraits (Steve McCurry) and confrontation photography (James Nachtwey).

Being young (currently 22) I have shot digital for almost as long as I have shot film, but am feeling the urge to return to film. This is because after going with all the usual zooms (24-70, 70-200 f/2.8 IS, etc.) I found myself liking the images from even cheap primes! So my digital lineup has changed to 5D MKII, 50L, 85L II, etc. But enough about that...

Since I found love in images made with primes, I have also noticed that people react differently to film cameras in general, rangefinders especially. They appear as novelties and 'harmless' unlike a monster DSLR which can be quite daunting on the other end of the lens. I understand that the energy given out from the photographer effects people just as much (if not more), however a small camera is just another way to put people at ease, or to go unnoticed.

With that said I don't have the money for a proper Leica setup, and I'm not quite ready for the Mamiya 7 II, so I decided that the Contax G2 would be a nice reintroduction... Today was my lucky day!

eBay sent me a 10% off coupon, and Microsoft Cashback is at 8%, exactly at the same time that somebody listed a G2 kit with 28/45/90/flash/misc combo for Buy It Now of $895!!!

Oh, I also paid with a credit card that gives 1% Cashback, so in total I got the kit for around $725!