Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 69,717   Posts: 1,514,808   Online: 829

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Shooter
    35mm

Hi from Rochdale

Hi all,

I was introduced to APUG by Cheryl Jacobs. I have been lurking for a while as I cannot post as currently I am digital (Canon 300D). I am a student of the NYIP and currently working on unit 4. However, I have developed a love for Black and White and have realised I cannot reach the standard I want to achieve digitally and want to "progress" on to film. I realise that to shoot black and white film and have it process and printed commercially is a waste of time and money and I guess I just need a little persuasion to take the plunge and buy a darkroom.

My local Photography shop has a second hand darkroom with a Meopta Optemus? enlarger for sale for £100.00.

Should I?

Can anyone convince me?

Is there anyone local to me in Lancashire/Greater Manchester who can show me the ropes and get me started?

Regards

Graeme

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Hello Graham,

Welcome

There are huge amounts of darkroom equipment being sold on eb*y UK. Have a look there first.

Barry
    London UK

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Images
    Graeme -

(**** Plunge, plunge! ****)

Good to see you here! It's a great place to learn. It's not a bad idea to check eb*y, but really, however you do it will work just fine. Film B&W is a whole different animal, and it's incredibly satisfying (at least for me) to create prints with my hands rather than my computer.

- CJ

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Images
    Quote Originally Posted by Graeme
    Hi all,