Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,558   Posts: 1,545,228   Online: 882

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Shooter
    35mm

Thought I might say hello

After reading through some of the older posts in this thread I think that I should say hello straight ahead, and not wait a year or two...

I'm a engineer student at the Royal Institute of Technology in Stockholm, but currently I live in a small town called Arboga, due to the fact that I will begin writing my master thesis nearby in September.

About ten years ago, I got my hands on a copy of Adobe Photoshop Elements, and found image manipulation very fascinating. I have continued with this hobby, and after a couple of years I started using the Photoshop, instead of Elements.

Over the years I have "improved" photos taken with point-and-shoot cameras. The image quality, both technical and artistic, hasn't been the best. :P
    A year and a half ago, I bought my first DSLR, and to this day, I have taken about 20 000 photos, of which a hundred or so has been "good".

Digital photos two main advantages; I can take as many photos as I want, without spending money, and I can always correct them later in Photoshop.

Then, three month ago, I inherited an old Pentax Super-A. I bought a roll of Kodak Elite Chrome, and went outside, testing the camera. It took some time exposing those 36 frames, since the film did cost about $14, I didn't want to waste a single frame. I then sent the film away for development, another $10. Two weeks later, the developed film was returned, and it was judgement day.

Out of 36 frames, I was pleased with 15. 10 frames where wasted on trying to figure out how the camera actually works, and the rest was just bad photography. But the number, 15 frames out of 36 possible, is in my mind a good ratio, compared to 300 digital ones, with 8-10 good ones.