Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 69,965   Posts: 1,523,317   Online: 1195

Wickford,Rhode Island, US (suburban/rural)
    Shooter
    35mm

New Englander coming aboard

Hello to all and thanks for the help already given to me in dealing with dust problems in my aged inherited equipment.
    I've been casting about for my third career and I'm thinking photography's it. It's been an on-and-off hobby since just after college, I had a couple of prints bought by a small magazine some years back, and when I've traveled to certain places--the Southwest US, Yosemite Valley, Israel--my juices just seem to get flowing and I'm busy for months or years afterward trying to find placements for my favorites.
    I'm a software applications developer by trade--very sick of it--and very happy to be working non-digital photography. My daughter--only child--is self-supporting now, and I'm able (for the present) to support myself working 3 days a week, and devote the rest of the time to photography. I have lots to learn and very little equipment to start with, though I've been able to put together a functioning darkroom in the second bathroom.
    Currently I'm enrolled at a continuing ed course in B/W photography at the Rhode Island School of Design, which has a serious history in the field as Aaron Siskind was on their faculty for a number of years.
    That's about it. I look forward to meeting everyone sometime or other. Thanks to all for help already sent my way.
    Regards,
    Chaim

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Welcome from another New Englander! You have a great resource in RISD! And I think you are lucky to have so much time. Rhode Island has great light, so I'm looking forward to seeing your posts in the galleries.

Cheers,
    Suzanne

Shooter
    4x5 Format
    Images