Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,549   Posts: 1,544,589   Online: 847

Shooter
    Medium Format

Amaeur Printmaker

Hiii,

Im in my final year at university and we've been asked to make a plan for the next year which will aid our career choices. The thing is I'm really looking into becoming a printer and all of our talks and handouts are directed towards digital and photographers so I have little information to go on as to what to expect and what my next steps should be. My biggest worry is that once uni is over i will have very little printing options due to lack of darkrooms in the north west. Do I apply for an artist in residence programme? Or do I aply for an internship with a lab? Or do I apply directly to printers themselves? Or do I go down the teching route??
    Any help would be greatly and massively appreciated.

Thanks

Shooter
    35mm
    You've got two almost identical threads running. I'd have thought you'd want to have all answers together in one place

Just a suggestion

pentaxuser

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Welcome to Apug!

Jeff

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    By becoming a printer, I can only assume that would be a photo printer. When I was in school, I chose commercial art as my major, and the only thing facing me upon graduation was a job at RR Donnaly, as a "printer". The thought of spending my entire career in a printing facility, burning plates, stripping, or other related task in a print factory looked dismally bleak to me, I chose to find other gainfull employment. If you are aspiring to be a fine art printer, good luck. I think I would recommend artist in residence for you, let the uni's pay for you to explore all the avenues involved in such a broad term as "printer".
    Rick A
    Argentum aevum

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images