Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,289   Posts: 1,535,369   Online: 803

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: W. Eugene Smith

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images

W. Eugene Smith

In Sept. of 2002 while I was a student at the University of Arizona, I saw W. Eugene Smith's "Dream Street" gallery at the Center for Creative Photography. Those images have haunted me since and out of curiosity I'd like to know what film he used. Anyone know?

The prints were so dark, so haunting, so brilliant, so meticulous and immaculately done. They were also huge. If he did this on 35mm...I'm terribly impressed.

By far the most amazing and one of the most touching exhibitions I have ever seen. Books and digital reproductions (same thing, really) do no justice to seeing the real print up close (and far away!) in person.

Anyone else seen his exhibitions in person?

Shooter
    Multi Format
    He was a master photographer and an amazing printer of his own work. I don't know if the prints you viewed were vintage or not, he didn't generally print "huge", but they could well have been. He shot 35mm primarily, but other formats as well. He helped push 35mm into the mainstream of press photography. Film? IDK, probably all sorts. His printing style employed the use of a reducing bleach to create the local contrast he was after. He was kind of a nut, but a great great photographer.

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Images
    Quote Originally Posted by moouers View Post
    In Sept. of 2002 while I was a student at the University of Arizona, I saw W. Eugene Smith's "Dream Street" gallery at the Center for Creative Photography. Those images have haunted me since and out of curiosity I'd like to know what film he used. Anyone know?