Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,568   Posts: 1,545,441   Online: 1118

Thread: Ray Metzker

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images

Ray Metzker

Tonight I'll be driving Kansas City to hear a conversation between Nelson-Atkins MOA Photography Curator Keith Davis and Ray Metzker.

I might even get to shake his hand!

Anyways, I'm relatively new to his work, but I'd love to hear what you all know & think about his work. I enjoy getting other people's persepctive.

Thanks!
    If you are the big tree, we are the small axe

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    I like a lot of Metzker's work. His early stuff was on the dark side, while the new stuff is quite bright. Google images.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Quote Originally Posted by bwrules View Post
    Google images.
    Of course.

And yes, I see what you're saying. I can't wait to see the prints in person; many appear to be absolutely lush. India ink blacks -> snow capped whites.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    I'm in KC and really want to go, but I'm already committed to date night with the girlfriend. I've dragged her to far too many lectures at the Nelson it seems. I couldn't swing this one

The prints are bold! They're a lot of fun to look at.. lots of life in them. He's not afraid to use large areas of highlight or shadow with very little detail in them. He knows just when to use that technique, though. Some of my favorites are in the "couplets" series.

Don't forget to wander the rest of the photos, too! They just rotated the collection so there is a lot of new stuff up. Too bad you're a couple days early for Monet's Water Lilies triptych exhibit, unless you happen to be a member at the museum. It's worth another trip to see it!

Have fun tonight!