Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 68,692   Posts: 1,482,405   Online: 701

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Shooter
    Medium Format

New to medium format not new to photography. Night time exposure help!

Hello everyone!

I am new to Medium format but FAR from new to photography. I grew up with a father who shot for the Cleveland, Ohio fire dept before he became a fire fighter and an Uncle who shot for the Cleveland Plain Dealer (Newspaper) so I have been around good mentors.

I fooled around in high school with film but stopped. In 2003 I picked up a Digital Canon and have been shooting ever since. I shoot mainly studio work but I do weddings also. I try to stay away from LARGE weddings and stick with the intimate beach weddings as the couples are more relaxed and just ALOT of fun. When the money is right, yeah I will do a large wedding!

I have just picked up a RZ67 with a 50mm and 127mm lens, Polaroid back, 2x120 backs, waist level viewer, and a winder. I am very excited about shooting film as I have helped process film before just never made my own prints. My dad has a complete dark room at home and I told him NOT to get rid of it as I want his enlargers. I just do not have any room in the Condo I am living at right now but in less than two years I will be transferring and will be looking for a place to set up enlargers.

My plan is to shoot some boudoir sessions with it, studio work, and commercial work. I know I have PLENTY of light with my Quantum T5d-R's and Photogenic strobes but I do not think I will ever give up digital. I am sure I will supplement my digital with medium format at weddings but can not EVER see dropping digital for the film.