Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,516   Posts: 1,543,733   Online: 884

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Shooter
    Large Format Pan
    Images

the (my) process of making a portrait...

In a recent thread ("on technique") I mentioned this:
    "the chosen technique should be closely integrated in the subject matter - so in the end, we're not looking at a photograph, but on an image."

This was not understood - and thought as a lenguage/translation mistake, but it wasn't...

It was suggested, that we all are photographers in here, so...

The "problem" is, that I don't consider my self a "photographer"... I see my self as an image maker in lack of better words..

To illustrate this I am here telling you a little about my current challenge:

I am to (try to) make an "official" portrait of the headmaster at my school, from when I was a student here (30+ years ago). If successful, they are to be hanged together with all the previous portraits of the headmasters from 1872 and foreward.

This is maybe the most difficult task I have ever set my self.. The whole idea, that I should make such portraits for the furture to see, is intimidating..

I am teacher in photography here, so the photography was of course my choise of technique...
    However, not quite:
    I decided not to make photographs of the couple, but want to make a schetchy like photograph/painting/drawing.....(an image rather than a photograph)

And I have the tool to do it: bromoil printing.
    I have now photographed the sweet couple (Frederik and Birthe), and just finished applying liquid emulsion on rather big heavy paper (50x100cm)...

So far so good - now comes the difficult part: the bromoil printing...