Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 69,888   Posts: 1,520,748   Online: 1097

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images

Grade 3 AZO Exposure

Hey ya'll

Is it normal for grade 3 AZO to require more exposure time than grade 2??

Shooter
    Plastic Cameras
    Quote Originally Posted by Digidurst
    Hey ya'll

Hmmmm...I believe so, yes.

Is it a problem or a big deal?

Shooter
    Large Format
    Images
    Yep, it sure is. Two to three stops more exposure.
    Semper Fi & God Bless America
    My Photography Blog

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Quote Originally Posted by McPhotoX
    Hmmmm...I believe so, yes.

Is it a problem or a big deal?
    Not at all... I'm just new to the stuff and thought it was odd. I increased the exposure (using the same negative) but the shadows blocked up. Guess I would need to dodge (or is it burn? I always get the terms mixed up but you know what I mean!) certain areas to keep that from happening? Any other suggestions?

Thanks for the quick clarification!!

Shooter
    Large Format
    Not at all... I'm just new to the stuff and thought it was odd. I increased the exposure (using the same negative) but the shadows blocked up. Guess I would need to dodge (or is it burn? I always get the terms mixed up but you know what I mean!) certain areas to keep that from happening? Any other suggestions?

Thanks for the quick clarification!!
    What you term as your shadows blocking up may be a result of the exposure scale of the grade three Azo being shorter then the density range of your camera negative. What about the highlight values? It is normal to base print exposure on the highlight values and the shadow values on the contrast grade of the paper.

If you have tried grade two Azo and found the print to be flat, then you could try water bath development (provided you are using Amidol).