Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 69,952   Posts: 1,522,734   Online: 868

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Shooter
    4x5 Format

4x5 contacts - basic light source?

I'm working on my first setup that will hopefully allow me to do 4x5 contacts. I'll keep it down to basics: darkness, frame, few trays and Adox or Ilford of some sort (not ready to splash on Azo just yet). My bold guess would be I'll also need a Bulb. But what kind of and how far above the frame? The basic exposure guideline to start with would be much appreciated (20sec?). I'm total newbie in this stuff (currently in transition from digital to chemical) so your patience is much appreciated. Hack I developed my first 4x5 in tray full of pyrocat just last week!

Shooter
    Large Format
    Blog Entries
    Images
    Basic exposure will vary so much by the distance you have the light source, the type and intensity of the light source, and the paper/developer combo you are using, that giving you a reasonable guess is meaningless. I do my contacts on variable contrast silver paper, using my dichro head enlarger, and I get about 30 seconds @ F22-F32 using my 135mm enlarging lens. If you were to use a bare bulb, you would probably get much shorter exposure times unless you use a low wattage bulb a fair distance from the paper. It may not make as much a difference with contact printing, but when using an enlarger, make sure that your bulb is a frosted, diffused lightbulb so you don't get the apparent pattern of the filament showing up in your image.

Quote Originally Posted by dr__red