Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,549   Posts: 1,544,622   Online: 690

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: AZO help!!!

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images

AZO help!!!

A couple of questions...

I have never used Azo before - for the past 12 months I have been printing mostly Pt/Pd. I am relocating to GA later this week and have just finished dismantling my dream darkroom. I will be in temporary accommodation until I can find a house we (the family) like and can afford. I expect this process to take a couple of months. During that time, I would like to do more than shoot and process film on the Jobo, but will have no dedicated darkroom so at best will have a converted bathroom for a little printing. I was thinking of just shooting 8x10 and printing on Azo. What is advisable and what isn't?

How critical are:

1. light source - what kind etc, bearing in mind that it is most likely going to be a bulb on a cord in a bathroom?
    2. developer - amidol or what other options work well
    3. the negative - what sort of density range do I ideally require for printing on Azo 2 and Azo 3? Also, I presume that using the Ortho channel on my Xrite 361T will give me a pretty good idea of what the negative 'looks like" to the portion of the spectrum to which Azo is sensitive? I'm presuming that Pyrocat HD is a sensible choice as a developer.

What would the recommended set-up be for someone in a closet type darkroom space?

Shooter
    8x10 Format
    1- A bare bulb or a reflector type bulb anywhere from 100w to 300w.

2- Amidol is by far the best. Agfa Neutol works pretty good but doesn't work well to control contrast with water bath.

3_Those negatives you have for PT/PD should print well on azo, more so if made with Pyrocat HD.

Shooter
    Multi Format