Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 68,693   Posts: 1,482,443   Online: 917

Thread: A few questions

Shooter
    35mm
    Images

A few questions

I am new to the DR, I want to make contact sheets of all my films, Firstly what size paper do I need, and am I right in assuming I should be putting a sheet of glass over the negs before Exposing to light, Lastly do I just use the enlarger without the lens on?

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Images
    Yes, you can make contact sheets with a sheet of glass, a custom-made contact printer (Paterson, etc.) makes it easier to keep the negatives under control and stop them sliding about and getting scratched. Alternatively you can put your negatives in transparent (not paper) sleeves and contact print them with a sheet of glass without taking the negs out of the sleeves (less handling, less scratching). Paper size - you will need at least 8x10", 9 1/2 x 12" can be better, if you cover up an area at the edge of the paper and thus leave it white, you can write notes on this. Yes, use the enlarger as a light source - focus it roughly to get even lighting and of course use the contrast filters are normal if necessary. Leave the lens on - just leave the neg carrier empty! There are 2 schools of thought on contact sheets - I make them very low contrast so that I can see all the tones present on every neg - some people like to make them normal contrast so that the contact sheet looks like finished prints in miniature. Don't forget to print emulsion to emulsion (dull side of film in contact with paper).

Regards,

David

Shooter
    35mm
    Images
    Thanks, yes I was thinking of using the lowest grade filter, its a colour enlarger so I can just dial it in. Would it be a good idea to get one of these?
    Last edited by ajuk; 01-30-2007 at 04:00 AM. Click to view previous post history.

Shooter
    Medium Format