Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 71,933   Posts: 1,585,575   Online: 768

Shooter
    4x5 Format

Airequipt Junior 4x5 contact printer

Hello,

Has anyone here ever used one of these? I just picked one up on eBay for $10.00, just to give it a try. Problem is, I don't know how to open it to change the light bulb. The safelight burns, but no bright light for exposing. Also, any tips on how to use it would be apprciated.

I am new to LF, and just purchased a Sinar F, with Rodenstock 150mm and 210mm lenses. I will process my on T-Max in trays at first. I was hoping to use this little contact printer just for fun.

Regards,

Terry

Shooter
    Multi Format
    One problem is I think that's intended for contact paper. Normal enlarging paper is way too fast. So you'll need to cut the light output some how.

To be honest if you have an enlarger I'd use that for a light source.

Shooter
    4x5 Format
    Thanks, Nick. I was hoping to find contact paper online. Don't they make it anymore? For now, I don't have a darkroom, or an enlarger. This little printer is really neat, and I would like to make it work.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    I think there are some threads on using just desk lamps or other small lights. Doesn't need much power [10 watts or less?] A bathroom would be okay for this. How are you going to process the paper?

Shooter
    Large Format
    Images
    Some of these contact printers turn the exposure light on when the top is closed and latched. They may also have a bag that inflates to press down on the paper and neg. If it has a timer, you would set the timer, and then when you close it, it will expose for the time set.