Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,958   Posts: 1,558,088   Online: 1078

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images

printing 35mm sizes?

new to printing, I have been printing this week for the first time in an organize way many of my hundreds 35mm negatives. I am new to this, so many questions coming into my head. The main one is the size. I am using 8x10 paper. In order to see the entire negative image into the paper the size I keep coming to is about 6,25x9,75 a bit smaller than that. If I want the image to cover all the surface of 8x10 in the paper I have to keep out of the paper part of the negative.

I am using an Omega D2v, a minolta 50mm lens and I believe all the enlarger pieces are like they are supposed to be.

Any advice? Thanks in advance.

Jaime.
    "Art is a lie that enables us to tell the truth" -Picasso
    http://www.jaimebermudez.com

Shooter
    Multi Format
    100 photographers will give 100 different answers to this one....

On 11x14 paper I setup my blades at 6" x 9" because it is easy to remember. That seems to give a nice presentation. Then I tweak a little based on the camera/negative I am printing as the image size can vary slightly from camera to camera.

For 8x10 paper I start at 4"x 6", again because it is easy to remember, then tweak from there.

I assume you have a 4 blade easel. If you don't have one, then you will be left with an odd presentation or (if you trim the paper) an odd paper size.
    Last edited by ic-racer; 12-14-2010 at 08:11 PM. Click to view previous post history.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Jaime:

Another approach would be to print smaller. If you cut 8x10 in half, you end up with two sheets of 5x8. Your 35mm negative will fill up a 5x7.5 sheet nicely, leaving a 1/2 inch for test strips.
    Matt