Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,504   Posts: 1,543,455   Online: 959

Shooter
    Multi Format

"Self-Portrait: USA"

I started to post this under matti's thread on recommended books but decided to start a new one. It's going to be long, so you might want to skip it.

This book is brand-new to me although it was published almost 40 years ago. I can't tell you how impressed I am with it.

David Douglas Duncan, best known as a war photographer, was enlisted by NBC News to do still photos of the 1968 Democratic and Republican National Conventions. I slightly remember his pictures from watching the reports back when I was a college student. The year 1968 is considered by many historians as a pivotal year in the history of the USA in many ways. Duncan's photographs bring it back vividly.

Duncan came to the Republican convention almost directly from an assignment in Vietnam and had left most of his equipment behind. He had a couple of his own Leica M3's and was loaned some Nikon F's with lenses and a Leicaflex with a prototype 400/6.8 Telyt lens. The portraits done with the 400mm are outstanding in every respect and the others are excellent.