Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,911   Posts: 1,556,238   Online: 960

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images

The Sadness of Men

Photographs by Philip Perkis.

I "pre-ordered" this book from Photo-eye some time ago, and completely forgot until recently that I had done that. Anyway, it arrived today, and it has to be, hands down... one of the most beautiful photography books I have ever seen. His work has an ethereal dramlike quality, and yet... it is rooted in a classic kind of 35mm leica grainy tri-x reality. He has photographed all over the world... New York, Israel, Mexico, Brazil, the U.S.

He was the head of the photography department at Pratt Institute when I was a student there... ahem... in the early 80's, and he was (and probably still is) an excellent instructor of photography. I think he might still teach at SVA, and NYU. At any rate... I highly recommend this book if you like well observed 35mm photography full of serene landscapes, jumbled street scenes, and just carefully seen life in general.

http://www.amazon.com/Sadness-Men-Ph...6577335&sr=8-1

Shooter
    Multi Format
    How about a brief summary for the book's title? I couldn't find any in the review...

drew

Shooter
    8x10 Format
    Thanks for the heads up. I'd be sad if you didn't. Grin.
    When I grow up, I want to be a photographer.

http://www.walterpcalahan.com/Photography/index.html

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    The book is a compilation of his photographs made over a period of, I think, 50 years. He photographs much in the same way as Robert Frank. He has traveled a lot, and is really, I think, a careful observer of life, of nature, of cities, and the countryside. The pictures have a kind of "sadness" about them... not exactly depressing, and he talks about the difference between depression and sadness in an interview at the back of the book.