Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,565   Posts: 1,545,341   Online: 1005

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Shooter
    35mm
    Images

Which Magazine/Publication for the Newbie ?

I am a beginner, slowly learning about cameras and developing, but more so how to "see". There seems to be many fine publications out there.

What magazine would you recommend to a newbie as the one that consistently will have features that will open their mind to new ways of looking through a lens? and is analog-centric.

Lensman?
    Black& White UK
    Silvershotz -- looks very inspirational
    any others ?

Clueless in Dublin

Simplicius

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Images
    In my opinion, your money would be better spent on photography books.

For the price of a glossy magazine you can usually find a good selection of photographic books from a charity shop (such as Oxfam).

Most of my books are secondhand sourced this way.

Plus - ask lots of questions here.

Steve.
    "People who say things won't work are a dime a dozen. People who figure out how to make things work are worth a fortune" - Dave Rat.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    I agree with Steve. Besides books I would also visit museums, galleries and other collections that are open to the public.

Another recommendation is to discuss the subject with other photographers and perhaps go on joint excursions and attend workshops.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    About the only magazine that has some traditional content any more is B&W from the UK.
    The US version is geared toward collectors of images, View Camera--the name says it all and Photo Techniques has displaced most of it's traditional content with d1tital.
    You may find more information on line than at the news stand and traditional books are also being displaced at the bookstore.