Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 71,532   Posts: 1,572,645   Online: 933

Shooter
    35mm

San Francisco, San Diego Exhibtions etc.

Hello,
    in the middle of September I will stay in California for about 20 days, mostly in S.F. and San Diego. Can anybody tell me what's up there in photography(museums, galeries, exhibitions and others)? Because it's my first stay in the U.S. I'm not very experienced in that scene there.
    Thank you very much.

Regards
    Hubert

Shooter
    Plastic Cameras
    Images
    Hi, in San Francisco check out: www.sfmoma.org

Jon
    Mendocino Coast Black and White Photography: www.jonshiu.com

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Hubert -

Will you have a car? How adventuresome are you about using public transportation to travel to outlying areas?

In San Francisco, a must-see is the DeYoung Museum. The photography is limited but classic, but its inspiring to see some of the paintings.

Another place we discovered when we were there two weeks ago is the Cantor Center at Stanford University in Palo Alto. There is some photography, but more importantly, they have a fabulous collection of Rodin sculptures. Rodin's work is very influential in my portraiture and figure photography. It's accessible via the light rail system.

If you have a car and wish to drive to Carmel (about 2 hours south), the Weston Museum and Gallery West both have excellent displays.
    Louie

Shooter
    35mm
    Quote Originally Posted by Monophoto View Post
    Hubert -

Will you have a car? How adventuresome are you about using public transportation to travel to outlying area

In San Francisco, a must-see is the DeYoung Museum. The photography is limited but classic, but its inspiring to see some of the paintings.