Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 71,901   Posts: 1,584,431   Online: 795

Greetings,

My name is Robare M. Novou. I'm a sign artist / gilder. I have be researching liquid gilding (gold chloride) for the past 20 years.

I have sucsessfully and safely produced gold chloride from solid gold, on my work bench here in my shop without the fear of breathing dangerous fumes and without the aid of exhaust vents. This is a simple setup..involving 3 flasks and a small amount of chemicals and a few grams of 999.9 gold.

I have written a book detailing formulas and procedures for producing gold chloride for application in gilding.

From what I have read and seen this may be the answer that some of you are seeking for successfully toning photographs with gold chloride. And might I add, at substancial $avings.

I maybe reached at zignmahn@yahoo.com

The spell check on this forum works great!

RMN

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images

ann

Shooter
    35mm
    Images
    is this running less than $13 a gram?

Greetings again,

I've had a few replies to the 3 flask system of safely producing gold chloride.

I don't know much about gold toning photographs...but from what I've read and researched and have seen on this site, leads me to believe that the 3 flask system would work for photographers grapeling with gold chloride production.

I normally sell my book to the sign gilding trade for $100. Half the book deals with the history of liquid gilding on glass in the sign industry...the other half deals with the production of gold chloride for its use in solution gilding on glass.

I would delete the history part of the book and focus on gold chloride production procedure. By doing this I could sell the book for half the cost, for say $50. Unless you want the book in all its glory, then its
    the $100.