Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 69,880   Posts: 1,520,487   Online: 815

Shooter
    Multi Format

LF from Saudi Arabia

Hello everybody,

I am a nature photographer from Saudi Arabia, 15 year experience with 35mm & MF. To move another step on the photography ladder, I think it is wise to wander with new medium and format..entering the world of Large format. For the past weeks, I have a complete system from a friend of mine, the system consists of:
    1) Sinar F2 camera
    2) 90mm lens, 150mm lens, and 210mm lens
    3) 4 holders, changing bag, focusing loup
    4) one expired packet of Velvia 50

I shot now 2 shots and the result was as expected (one blurry, and one was shot on wrong side but I had so much fun fighting with that giant..I really enjoyed it because I feel Large format is only for real men

Anyway, can you help me guys find the good books on this new world, I am well expert when it come to photography (in fact I publish a book on one city here in Saudi Arabia), so I know the art of nature photography in general...it is LF that I have no experience in. Also, my eyes are looking at an Ebony 45SU, do you think that it is close from the Sinar F2 camera in term of finding the correct f/stop and placing DoF?

Thanks

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Ansel Adam's "The Camera" and "The Negative" are fantastic. They'll cover a lot of basics, but I think you'll learn a lot about LF from these books as well. Also, "View Camera Technique" by Leslie Stroebel is a great book about using movements, etc.

Good luck & welcome to LF

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images