Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 71,898   Posts: 1,584,370   Online: 729

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Shooter
    Multi Format
    Blog Entries
    Images

Lenswork Magazine?

I was listening to the latest "Film Photography Podcast" today and they made mention of the "Lenswork" magazine.

Considering this was the Film photography podcast, I would have thought that the magazine would have had a film slant, but from the looks of it on the website, the mag is yet another "digital is so great" reads.

Does anyone get this one? Is there any film content? Curious to know.

Cheers

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Blog Entries
    Images
    Posted wirelessly..

The amount of film content can be dubious at best. I have a subscription to Lenswork extended and get all of the interviews and 'darkroom' tours, of which a few are of real darkrooms. I do enjoy the magazine. And being 'digital-is-so-great' could not be further from the truth. They don't promote the medium used, just plain great photography, IMHO.
    Last edited by Christopher Walrath; 07-20-2010 at 07:38 AM. Click to view previous post history.
    Thank you.
    CWalrath

"Wubba, wubba, wubba. Bing, bang, bong. Yuck, yuck, yuck and a fiddle-dee-dee." - The Yeti

Shooter
    4x5 Format
    Images
    I used to read Lenswork, and study the portfolios of the various photographers in each issue. But I am unable to look at work without first learning whether it is analog or digital, and I lose interest as soon as I find out I am looking at digital images. Over time it seemed like the number of digital portfolios began outnumbering the analog ones, and Lenswork became, for me, more of the digital noise out there, as did the old Black and White magazine of a few years ago.

Is one refuge from the digital storm too much to ask?

web site: Dan Henderson, Photographer.com