Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 69,963   Posts: 1,523,248   Online: 972

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Shooter
    Large Format

Location lighting question

I'm primarily a natural light photographer, but I do own a set of ProFoto strobes I got a deal on, used of course. The only bad part is that are not compatible with a battery system, so taking them outside of my garage/studio is not going to happen unless I have 20,000 feet of extension cords. So I'm thinking of getting a 300 W/S battery powered moonlight to use outdoors as fill light. My question is, if I shoot through, or reflect off an umbrella will 300W/S be enough to use as a fill light? It puts out a GN of 190, and I expect to be 10-20 feet away from the subject.

I would love to spend more $ on a good light, but I don't do much location work to justify the price.

Thanks!

CGW

Shooter
    Medium Format
    There's always the Strobist approach...

http://strobist.blogspot.ca/

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Outdoors, you're going to have to keep the shutter speed at sync speed or below. That and film speed will determine your aperture. If it's a small aperture, your portable flash may be fine for individuals and couples and tight shots of small families, but not powerful enough for big group photos. The umbrella will drop your output a bit depending on the style. You can put the flash closer than you are, but just make sure it's not in the photo (not a problem with tele lenses) A fabric reflector kit can also be a good alternative, but sometimes makes people squint if they are not intent on a good photo (such as in a group situation)

Shooter
    35mm RF
    Images
    Quote Originally Posted by Shootar401 View Post
    I'm primarily a natural light photographer
    So why the lights?