Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,300   Posts: 1,535,883   Online: 952

Shooter
    35mm

How does this lightmeter work?

I recently received a very old light meter and I have no idea how it works. It took me a while to find out the make/model but I can't seem to find anywhere instructions on how I can use it. APUG is my last hope

The light meter is called Exposimet and it was made by the Czech company Metra. Here's a picture of it:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	metra.jpg 
Views:	120 
Size:	45.2 KB 
ID:	52180

I've never used a light meter before but I assume that based on the input of 2 values and you find out the third e.g. you set ISO(marked DIN on the device) and Aperture and you find out the exposure time.

The device is completely solid and the only moveable parts are the exterior ring (which contains the ISO values and Aperture as well as a series of numbers from 3 to 15) and the needle of the meter. There's a red arrow on the body pointing to the ring which indicates either a result or an input value.

Does anyone have any idea on how to correlate the values? Any help is greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    The meter reads EV's - a set of equivalent combinations of shutter speed and aperture all equate to one EV for a given film speed.

Old Rolliflexes/Rolicords used this as an exposure setting means, I think - you lock the shutter and aperture setting rings together at a given EV, then as you move the shutter faster the aperute proceeds to also open wider, and vice versa.

Fred Parker's 'ultimate exposure computer ' - look on the web- explains light and EV's well, if in a bit of a long winded maner.

The meter you have is likely powered by a selenium cell, which can 'poop out' over the decades. Check that the results are reasonable before you start to rely on it.