Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 71,546   Posts: 1,572,982   Online: 938

Shooter
    35mm

Lights or no Lights

OK so I'm interested in getting into portraits / fashion photography. As a hobby, not a profession.

I'm contemplating whether or not I should play with lights. There are many reasons for getting into strobes but sometimes I wonder if it is for me. Many of my favorite flickr photographs taken from others were done by hobbyists using available light. Most non-professional photographers use strobes badly, in my opinion but tastes may differ.

I look into my favorite fashion photographers: avedon, penn, demarchelier, etc. and their lights were more or less simple. I'm not an expert on lighting or portraiture but I believe that the former two used north window lighting and demarchelier is known for simple lighting. I can be wrong.

I'm interested in indoor and outdoor portraits so I'm wondering if there are any photographers that worked primarily with available light or simple monolight setups. I believe that Demarchelier's Pirelli calender was done all with available light. I'm interested in more examples like that if anyone knows any off-hand. I just want to see what can be done with available light before jumping deep into a monolight configuration.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Blog Entries
    Images
    Lights do take effort.

Lights are fun.

Lights give you control.
    Mark Barendt, Beaverton, OR

"We do not see things the way they are. We see things the way we are." Anaïs Nin

Shooter
    Med. Format RF
    Here's a great place to start exploring flash. It can be done simply and inexpensively.

http://strobist.blogspot.com/2006/03/lighting-101.html

Shooter
    4x5 Format
    With flash, you control the light. The light is everything to a photo.

Kent in SD

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images