Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,212   Posts: 1,532,082   Online: 1236

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images

Patrick Demarchelier lighting

http://agent-lee.blogspot.com/2010/0...y-patrick.html

How does he do his lighting? I have no experience with lights so i can't really decipher these things. I'm interested into getting into strobes and i love his lighting so I figured that striving for something similar would help (well but with lower end stuff ofcourse). Any suggestions, ideas, guesses? It looks very simple and soft.

Shooter
    8x10 Format
    depends on which image you are seeing. Some are the ambient light of the scene, may be with a reflector. Other's are punched with light his lighting crew delivered, whether strobe or hot light. When he does add his own lights, it is usually very near the camera so the cast shadow isn't very visible to the lens. The bottom line is to get the "Simple" takes a lot of care and hard work. You can do the same with the modern LED light banks, too.
    When I grow up, I want to be a photographer.

http://www.walterpcalahan.com/Photography/index.html

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Images
    Most of those look like axis light that is very expertly balanced with the ambient, either the lights on the street or a cafe, or the overcast sky.