Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 69,895   Posts: 1,520,931   Online: 949

Thread: Beginner Studio

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Images

Beginner Studio

I am interested in setting up a small studio for MF portait sessions. Can you offer any pointers to a total beginner?
    So far I've thought of a three flash kit (with all the extras, umbrellas, softboxes and the like), a battery and a background holding system.
    Plus I need some information on lighting and technique as I don't have a formal photography education.

Thank you.
    aristotelis grammatikakis
    www.arigram.gr
    Real photographs, created in camera, 100% organic,
    no digital additives and shit

Images
    Maybe someone else can point it out cuz I can't find it, but Blansky did a really nice explanation of lighting a while back. It helped me understand things much better. Good luck. I was going to go down this road until I realized I hated taking pictures of people.
    Technological society has succeeded in multiplying the opportunities for pleasure, but it has great difficulty in generating joy. Pope Paul VI

So, I think the "greats" were true to their visions, once their visions no longer sucked. Ralph Barker 12/2004

Shooter
    Multi Format
    http://www.apug.org/forums/article.php?a=13
    here's an article by Bob Fowler, (APUGer)

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    I guess my suggestions would be:

1. With respect to lighting, pick a line of strobes that you can grow with and add to, so accessories will work with all the lights. Buying quality units, instead of "economy" models, will usually save you money in the long term. Woodworkers can never have too many clamps, and studio photographers can never have too many lights.