Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 71,814   Posts: 1,581,596   Online: 868

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Shooter
    Medium Format

Lighting Newb... What else is new.

Okay, other than my trusty Vivitar 285, a round reflector and some hologen shop lights clamped to my basement ceiling, I have no lighting....

Now, as it seems, I will probably be doing mostly outside, relaxed, situational portraits. I want to shoot with my AE1's, Nikon N80 and my Mamiya TLR (MF). I will be doing all kinds of other things too, as I am a newb with lighting.

Of course, I'm broke but I don't agree with buying junk.. So???

Whats a good strobe? New or used... Dependable, reliable. I may be using this for a paying customer. Something good to learn with.

I'm guessing I will be wanting to use this strobe and soft box as my main light. Maybe my vivitar, next to the camera for fill.... I have a new Minolta light meter..

I don't know... Please help.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Alien Bees would be a good choice. The B800 has enough oomph to use in a softbox at moderate distances. I don't really recommend using the Vivitar with other strobes. You'll soon find that the lack of a modeling light will be a royal pain in the posterior.
    Bob Fowler
    fowler@verizon.net
    Some people are like Slinkies. They're really good for nothing, but they still bring a smile to your face when you push them down a flight of stairs.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    I've also heard good comments about the Alien Bees - made by Paul C. Buff Co, the White Lighting folks. (I've used White Lightnings for years.) They also make a battery pack that you can take into the field.