Switch to English Language Passer en langue franšaise Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 74,523   Posts: 1,645,676   Online: 830

Shooter
    Large Format

Buyer Intel - Photoflex Constellation3

This is probably not a great intro post for myself. I've been lurking for a while. I'm an amateur wet plate photographer in CO and have been here many times to read about lenses and other large format topics. Anyways, I was kind of halfheartedly looking around at lighting for interior wet plate on Denver Craigslist today, and came across this ad:

http://denver.craigslist.org/pho/4965036881.html

I'm not even going to pretend that I know anything about interior lighting for photography (although I have an idea of what I need for wet plate). But I can do math, and this looks like a steal. Those Coolstar 150 bulbs are like $125 each. The lighting unit is still for sale on at least one website for $275. The silverdome is like $100. The stand has got to be worth a few bucks. It's evidently all new, and the guy/gal is asking $300, and it looks like this has been sitting on craigs for a month. He should have posted it in a place like this instead of craigslist.

What I do know is that this will not work for me. I need a different kelvin fluorescent bulb, and that's the only reason I would buy this as a large amount of fluorescent light would be the major draw for me. I strongly debated with myself whether or not I should try to make him an offer anyways and try to make out like a bandit by parting it out, but I've decided against it.

I don't know him/her. I haven't seen it in person (this is on the other side of town from me). I don't know if he'll ship (maybe not since it's on craigs). Just thought I'd post this here in case anyone needs something like this and thinks it's a steal.
    Last edited by brombones; 04-09-2015 at 05:26 PM. Click to view previous post history.

Shooter
    Multi Format