Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,299   Posts: 1,535,767   Online: 854

Shooter
    Medium Format

Help with lighting for prosthetics - absolute beginner indoors...

Hi

I have been asked to do some photography for a performance artists show, apparently for archival purposes but also with the possibility of exhibition –

I don’t have then full info yet, but I will be shooting indoors with I’m guessing flouro and possibly a small amount of window/daylight, which is fine for me with candid snappy snap doco style photography, I would probably use a little fill flash and just follow my nose after doing test shots in Polaroid…

I do however also have the job of photographing the artist (an ex girlfriend) in what she expects to be a more ‘studio’ type shot of her after the event - this is where I need help!

The kind of shot I imagine she is after would be similar to the shots of work she appreciates – check out:

http://www.georgetown.edu/faculty/ir...2-2-600pix.jpg

http://www2.uol.com.br/tropico/pscm/...5/1/i-1786.jpg

http://www.c3.hu/events/97/cremaster/images/c5.jpg

http://www.michaeljamesobrien.com is the photographer if you are interested

As you can see there is a fair amount of makeup involved …

All I have at my disposal so far is my own gear: A Mamiya RZ (50, 90 and 127mm lenses) and two Metz CL45’s (one with hotshoe connector the other PC so I can trigger them both with the RZ) …

Can I simply rely on the Metz’s with bounced flash ? what is the best method with this setup ? or is it simply not going to achieve the effects of the above samples ? - I can add to the budget some hire lamps/studio flashes – but don’t have any idea about this – any recommendations would be great - umbrella reflectors things? white bag diffuser things? Simple tips, whatever would be great (I’m usually a landscape person)