Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 68,646   Posts: 1,481,266   Online: 721

Shooter
    ULarge Format
    Images

Getting balance across the tonal range -strobe flash and the 11x14

I'm doing some flash work with an 11x14 and using Efke PL100. The main strobe is a soft-boxed Hensel 3200 and the fill is a gridded 1500 monoblock. I'm taking a synched reading with a Sekonic L508 and exposing as shown with exceptions for bellows extension, etc. The skin tones are coming out great as are most tones, but the dark tones, like black clothing are coming out seriously underexposed. The only solution I know is to throw more light at these areas but then the skin tones would blow out.

I'm very new to strobe lights, don't really like them but require them for this project. Are there ways to gain density on the low tones without blowing out the mid and high tones? Thanks for your suggestions.

Shooter
    Large Format
    Are you taking a reflected or incident flash meter reading? If incident, I would suggest switching to reflected readings of both shadows and highlights and balance your lights on that basis. I gather that you are making your exposure judgements on the basis of light values rather then dark values. Exposure is still going to be based on the dark values. It sounds to me that you need to increase exposure (either through amount of light, positioning of light, or of lens shutter speed) and this may require a decrease in development.

Leaf shutters will synch at any shutter speed. You could increase exposure of the dark areas by choosing a longer shutter speed.

Shooter
    Large Format
    Images
    This is not a function of format.

Do you shoot PL100 in another format? You may just be overdeveloping, if you can't get the detail in the blacks and keep the highlights under control at the same time.