Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 69,916   Posts: 1,521,790   Online: 1037

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
    Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images

watt seconds and meter readings low

I'm new at this and have no clue on flash / studio lighting. My question is ... with 1400 watt seconds how much light should I be getting from my flash meter reading? Is that (1400 ws) relativlely low? That would be 700 each. I'm using two units w/bounce umbrellas at about 5 ft from my subject. My readings are very consistent at about 1/8th second at about f/2.8. Walls are dark paneling, carpet is dark blue, subject is dark brown, film speed is 100. This is just a test - nothing major. It just seems as though I'm not getting much of a reading. I expected more from studio lights. Camera to subject was 6 ft. Is this normal for this power supply? Its a brownline.

Thanks!

Dorothy

Are you using a flashmeter?

At that distance 5 feet, you should be getting F8 or F11 at about 200-300 ws.

If you're using a leaf shutter, set it at maybe 125 or 250 of a second, unless you want to pick up some ambient room light.

I use a soft box as a main light at about 3-4 feet and am at less that 300ws and F81/2 at 125. (125asa)

With my lights and an unbrella at 600ws at 12 feet it's still 5.6, so something is not right.

Michael
    I couldn't think of anything witty to say so I left this blank.

Shooter
    35mm
    Yes, something is not right, that 2.8-1/8 sounds more like a reading of the rooms ambient level, or nearly so. I would suspect the meter is not syncing to the flash correctly.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    I'm using a Gossen flash meter and tried it both with reflective reading and incident. With just the modeling lights i got a reading of 1/8 sec @ f/5.6.

Do you have the flashmeter set to "flash". Is the sync cord attached to the meter?