Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,222   Posts: 1,532,388   Online: 1091

Shooter
    35mm

take pity on a novice: lighting advice for evening outdoors...

hey,

i am doing a shoot outdoors on a basketball court. i want it to feel "gloomy" so i am thinking of shooting around dusk.

i have a flash. but i worry that it will cast a too warm light on my subject (I am having a person pose). I also would like as much detail of the background/surroundings visible as possible. cracks in the concrete, hoops in the distance, etc.

i am a student, but i am assuming most of the equipment a photography school would have needs to be plugged in. except of course reflector panels, which seems to be my only option.

any suggestions on film type? I have 35mm format. Medium format would probably be better but I dont think i'll be able to get my hands on one for an outdoor, out of studio shoot. i plan on doing this in color, but if i like the concept, I might do black and white as well.

i am of course using a tripod...except for an intended shot where i am on the ground looking up and the subject is looking down at me with the sky in the background.

the evening setting will force me to use a slow shutter speed, but i worry that will cause some blurriness with the subject, and low depth of field.

i might end up just doing it during the day after all. ahh.

anyhoo, any insight is greatly appreciated. thanks, and take care.

I'm not exactly sure what "gloomy" means to you. Some of the most beautiful light there is, is the last few minutes before the sun goes down.

To take a pictures of someone on a basketball court at this time of day you'd only need to have a shutter speed of maybe 15th, 8th, etc down to a second. People can easily hold still for that long. The problem is your depth of field will be fairly shallow.