Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 71,916   Posts: 1,584,716   Online: 790

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Shooter
    35mm

Tell me about color filters

I'm a noob photographer and I never gave white balance any thought. But when I use color print film for snapshots and shoot indoors in tungsten light, everything is orangey. Under fluorescent light sometimes it's greenish. I've come to realize that maybe you can cancel these things out with filters, if you were willing to sacrifice the speed, but I've never tried, since I have no filters. What are the most useful color filters and what kind of situations should they be used in, or what kind of effects can you get? I've heard about people that use yellow filters with B&W too, because it supposedly increases contrast.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Try here, lots to read and learn.

http://www.schneideroptics.com/info/...hotography.htm

Shooter
    4x5 Format
    The use of filters in colour photography tends to be for the correction of colour temperature. Normal "daylight" film is tuned to respond to a colour temperature of around 5500 degrees Kelvin (which equates to midday in Washington on the longest day if my memory serves me right). If you were in this situation, you shouldn't need any correction filters.

Indoor lighting (although it looks "white" to our eyes) is not white as far as the film is concerned. Tungsten filament lamps have a temperature of around 3200 degrees Kelvin, so you can see that there will be a difference of 2300 Kelvin. To correct this situation, you would use a "tungsten to daylight conversion" filter (normally called 80a/b/c). Flourescent indoor lighting has a different temperature again, and yet another filter (FL/Day) would be required. The same applies to mercury and sodium (street) lamps.