Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,973   Posts: 1,558,723   Online: 781

Shooter
    Multi Format

Copy stand lights

I have a Bencher Copymate copy stand without lights. I was all set to order a set from B&H, but they estimate delivery at 6-10 weeks and I can't wait that long. I need to photograph about 120 11x14 B&W prints as soon as I can. What are my alternatives-hot lights, strobes? What works well, is reliable, repeatable, and easy would be good too? I have no experience doing this kind of work and need direction. Budget is max of $500.00, less if possible. Thanks!

Richard Wasserman

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    How about a couple of these:
    http://www.lowes.com/lowes/lkn?actio...PDQ&lpage=none
    Keep them at a low angle so you don't get reflections off the prints. If you're doing B&W, regular light bulbs will work fine. I you're doing color, use the blue photo bulbs.
    They are $12.94 at Lowe's.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails 017398346832md.jpg  
    Bruce

Moma don't take my Kodachrome away!
    Oops, Kodak just did!
    For all practical purposes, they've taken Kodak away.

BruceCSdunekPhotography.zenfolio.com

Shooter
    4x5 Format
    All you need are 4 lamps, set at a 45 degree angle to your baseboard, 2 right, 2 left.
    You can use regular lamps for it.

For checking the correct angle of the lights use a clothpeg upright in the middle, all shadows should be equaly long for even lighting.

Peter

Shooter
    Med. Format Pan