Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,220   Posts: 1,532,303   Online: 889

I am a ceramics teacher at a high school. I need to build a lighting outfit for shooting the student work only. I think I want a "hot" 3 light system two side and one top. I have a gray backdrop, 50mm macro lense/camera, polarizing filter, tripod, and shutter release. most of the student work is 8 - 12in tall. However I need to be able to shoot work that can reach 3-4 feet. I want soft soft light. What can I buy. $500-$600

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Images
    Quote Originally Posted by teacher
    I am a ceramics teacher at a high school. I need to build a lighting outfit for shooting the student work only. I think I want a "hot" 3 light system two side and one top. I have a gray backdrop, 50mm macro lense/camera, polarizing filter, tripod, and shutter release. most of the student work is 8 - 12in tall. However I need to be able to shoot work that can reach 3-4 feet. I want soft soft light. What can I buy. $500-$600
    What medium/ film to you intend to use? Black and White, Color Negative, Color Transparency ... or ??

The lighting will depend on the accuracy of color desired ... and some few other conditions.
    Carpe erratum!!

Ed Sukach, FFP.

35 mm color negative primarily and digital second

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Images
    You can pick up some Smith Victor hot lights pretty cheaply, and you could gel them to get the right color balance. You can probably find them for next to nothing used if you know where to look. Also look into improvising a diffusion panel - that way you can put a light or two behind it and get an effectively larger, softer light source.

Images
    I'm in the lighting business, so...

For $600.00, you could pick up a couple of Altman Softlite Jrs. and some cheapo stands. Nice little fixtures.