Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 71,918   Posts: 1,584,754   Online: 927

Shooter
    Med. Format Pan

Using a slide projector for portraiture?

I am an amateur so I can;t afford any lights.

I just come into a magazine style slide projector for free, is there any creative ways to use it in portraiture?

The first things I can think of is Spotlight/Hairlight, also projecting patterns/images onto skin.

Are there other creative ways of on making the most out of this projector?

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    is it creative ?

i don't know. try it.
    "One of the painful things about our time is that those who feel certainty are stupid,
    and those with any imagination and understanding are filled with doubt and indecision"

-Bertrand Russell

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images projected onto bodies has been done a lot, but perhaps not the way you'll do it. I think I recall seeing faces projected onto faces, and lots of patterns, natural scenes, etc. projected onto nudes. Rear projection onto scrims is done a lot. The lamp is likely in the 3200-3400K range, so an 80A or 80B filter (or full CTB) will bring it to daylight balance for shooting most color film.

Creativity isn't inherent in the hardware. It's up to you.

Lee

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Images
    The light is very harsh. You can project/bounce the light off a light wall (or the screen?)l for very broad portrait lighting. As Lee L. says, the color temp is about the equivalent of early morning or afternoon sun, so correct accordingly
    John, Mount Vernon, Virginia USA

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Quote Originally Posted by Hamster View Post
    Are there other creative ways of on making the most out of this projector?