Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,941   Posts: 1,557,535   Online: 1140

Thread: experimenting

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images

experimenting

I have a couple smith victor tungsten lights with a scoop type top from b&h that are suppose to be soft continuous lights...I'm new to continuous lighting and I tried to meter as if I were metering natural light since it is continuous...( I tend to like to meter each side of the face, the one more in the light and the opposite and then do a setting in between). I like tri-x 400 b&w in my med. format camera. Well, I metered and got a setting of 1/250 and f4 for my shots...the boys sat for a while (my kids) and then when done goofing around I took a few with my digital cam (canon 5d) same settings...but oh my they were AWFUL looking! So...dark and yuck. Now I worry that perhaps I'll need to push the film on development or is there enough difference between digital and film that this is no biggie and that perhaps the film will come out fine even when the digital was crap
    I shot one roll in my hassy500cm and the other in my rolleicord III type II.
    Any thoughts, input, smacks upside the head to get me thru?
    j e s s i c a | d i t t m e r

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    another thought just hit me...I'm going to meter, change batteries in my meter and do it again...can't remember how old my batteries are in it! eeek!

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    I always rate my film at half the rated speed for continuous light for starters, add bellows factor(LF) and reciprosity factor. I meter reflected mode for each light and average the readings, add in my factors and come close to decent exposure. You will have to experiment with your own set-up to find the ev for yours.
    Rick A
    Argentum aevum

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Images