Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,338   Posts: 1,537,635   Online: 1003

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Shooter
    4x5 Format
    Images

Am I an idiot? Minolta Flash Meter incident Readings are Absurd

Hi guys,

So I have a Minolta 5 degree spot for years that I love and have all but nearly destroyed and was recently handed a Minolta Flash Meter V from a friend who is trying to convert me to incident readings. BUT, in ambi mode, set at the right ISO and speed, the f-stops are waaaaaaay off. Sitting here with a single lamp for lighting at my desk, it reads f/2.8 @ 60, ISO 64. ...Right....and when I go outside it keeps showing stuff like f/90 @ 2000, ISO 64.

What the deuce is going on here? It has the round globe as well as the flat style attachment, both of which give me these erratic readings.

Any help would be delightful, and if no one knows what to do, any recommendations for places that might calibrate/repair a Minolta meter?
    K.S. Klain

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Are you sure it's not showing ev ratings? are you sure you have the iso set to 64, not 6400? are the batteries the right kind? If so, i'd think it probably needs to be re-calibrated. as to how to do this, i haven't an idea, but i would assume someone can fix them up.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    your friend may be pranking you lol xD check if someones been fooling with adjustment button. the polaris spot meter i use has it under the battery cover. yours might be in the same spot.

if that doesnt work, try the shake test, and see if you hear anything loose rattling around, maybe a little piece of plastic floating around inside sphere and messing with readings?

if its really bonked out, it might be cheaper to buy a used meter than trying to send it for repairs.
    good luck!

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images