Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 69,958   Posts: 1,522,986   Online: 1161

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images

Quick! Manual GN question

Two flashes on manual, I know the guide number for both of them, the will both light the same area (more or less, they are both set on wide and will fill more than the angle of view the lens gives), can I just add the guide numbers to get the correct exposure?

Ex, distance 10 meters, flash 1=GN 45, flash 2= GN 64, hence I would get an f/stop of roughly (109/10)~=f./11 ?

Shooter
    35mm
    no the guide number is

sqrt( 45^2 + 64^2)= 78 so it's f/7.8 or about f/8

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    okay, thanks!

You don't have to, but if you wouldn't mind, can you explain why the relationship is like that?

Shooter
    35mm
    OK I will try to explain as I am not good at this.
    First I would give you an example just to prove that it works. Take your example but change the flashes to 2 identical units with the GN of 56. Using the formula it came out as 80 for the combined GN. Which give you f/8, 1 stop more than with 1 flash.