Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,694   Posts: 1,549,015   Online: 886

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Shooter
    Medium Format

exposure times for Zero image?

Hello,

i am new to pinhole photography and would like to ask you if you could give me guidelines and some information on exposure times for zeroimage camera - 612f,please?

i am using iso 100 (ilford FP4) and fuji 160NS

Pinhole Size: 0.25mm
    Focal Length: 40mm
    F/158 (pinhole), F/55 ( zone plate)

If you could tell me if there is difference in exposure time when using zone palate and normal pinhole ?

Thank you

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    With an f/158 pinhole, in broad daylight, I would wager about 1s exposure time.

I use the Zero 2000 6x6 camera, which has an f/138 aperture, and with Plus-X / Foma 100 / Acros / TMax 100 I shot it at about 1s in bright sunlight. That worked pretty well. A bit over-exposed, but it was the slowest I could open and close the manual shutter with any accuracy. Beyond broad daylight you'd have to use a meter.

I have not used the Fuji 160NS, but since it's similar speed one second seems a reasonable starting point there too.

For the Zone plate, you'd be more like between 1/15 and 1/8 second exposure since it has a larger effective aperture.
    "Often moments come looking for us". - Robert Frank

"Make good art!" - Neil Gaiman

"...the heart and mind are the true lens of the camera". - Yousuf Karsh

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Depends on the hole size. I shoot my ZeroImage 6x9 mostly with 400 speed B&W film and expose for 4-16 seconds depending how bright the day is.
    -----------------------

"Well, my photos are actually much better than they look..."

Richard S.
    Albany, CA (San Francisco bay area)

My Flickr River of photographs
    http://flickriver.com/photos/rich815...r-interesting/

My Photography Website