Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,557   Posts: 1,545,227   Online: 894

Shooter
    35mm

Fixing a solargraph

I've seen some pretty cool solargraphy images, and I know that people usually just take the paper from the camera and immediately scan it. How much are people manipulating the scan afterwards? Has anyone tried fixing their undeveloped paper negative, and then make a print from it using optical means, or does everyone just scan it, invert it, and play with the levels to get a pleasing image?

I've never done this before, and would like to try it in the near future. The suspense is killing me though.
    ME Super

Shoot more film.
    There are eight ways to put a slide into a projector tray. Seven of them are wrong.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Blog Entries
    Images
    hi ME

a solargraph is a pinhole version of what Nicéphore Niépce, one of the early inventors of photogrpahy,
    called a retina print. he used a camera and lens rather than a pinhole.
    solargraphs, unlike lumen prints, are more of a silver stain, not a chemical reaction.
    with lumen prints the emulsion sweats, the plants sweat as they are left in the sun compressed onto the paper,
    so there is a reaction. lumen prints can be fixed and toned. people use gold or selenium or other things to tone them
    and a weak hypo bath to fix the images. from what i understand they print them darker than what they want
    because the fixer bleaches the image and makes it faint ....
    with the retina prints / solar graphs fixer removes the image entirely. it turns the paper completely white.
    i plan on using a super saturated salt solution with my own retina experiments. talbot used a supter saturated
    salt solution to fix/stabalize his images before hypo was suggested, and people here on apug, and elsewhere have used