Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,002   Posts: 1,524,434   Online: 1069

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Images

Sharpness and wavelength

I have been making phole images for a few years, and have several home-made boxes. I projected all the pinholes on the wall, got an exact measurement of size, did the math to figure out the optimum "focal length," and inspected the pinholes under a microscope for any defects.

I'm happy with the images, yet they don't appear as sharp as some others I see.

Talking physics with the neighbor, he said that I would get a sharper image if I filtered out one of the primary colors. He said since I have all these different wavelengths squeezing through the pinhole and overlapping, if some were eliminated the result would be a sharper image.

Well, I do that already. I shoot mostly landscape and cloud movement, so I have R25 filters on everything.

But. . .since I'm filtering the shorter wavelength part of the spectrum (blue), and allowing the longer wavelengths (red) to pass, is this the cause of a less-than-sharp image? I guess that is my question: when using a pinhole aperture, will shorter wavelengths produce sharper images than longer ones?
    If so, I need to start culling 58mm polarizers from the junk sales.

Love to hear some ideas on this.

Ole
    Shooter
    Large Format
    Blog Entries
    Images
    The pinhole should be optimised for the wavelength you want to use; there is no physical law that says that one is inherently sharper than the other.

Well - when you get right down to the microscopic scale, shorter wavelengths will produce a sharper image than longer ones - or at least allow greater magnification. That's why they make electron microscopes. But that's totally irrelevant to pinholes.
    -- Ole Tjugen, Luddite Elitist
    Norway

Shooter
    Medium Format