Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,205   Posts: 1,531,671   Online: 1166

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Shooter
    Multi Format

What's causing the band across the bottom on my 4x5's?

First light on my new wooden 4x5, using FP4+. Getting a slash of light across the bottom of the negatives, but only when using the camera in vertical (portrait) mode. Since it happens with all film holders, and doesn't happen in landscape mode, I'm ruling out film holder problems, and suspect some sort of inside reflection. I'm new to pinholing, would appreciate any ideas. Please ignore the poor exposures, I'm still figuring this stuff out.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Gazebo1.jpg   Gazebo2.jpg   Pasture 5 sec.jpg   Pasture - 10 sec.jpg   rr track 2.jpg  

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Seems like it might be a light leak between the body and the film holder. Is this a manufactured camera or homemade? Do you rotate the camera 90º for vertical vs horizontal or do you load the film or film holder differently?

I occasionally use a 4x5 with a rotating back for pinhole shots. If I saw that I would suspect a leaking seal in the back rotation mechanism.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Bellows not properly attached to the rear standard?

Shooter
    Multi Format
    is this a homemade camera? it looks like the the holder isn't quite tight to the back in vertical mode, or you are pulling the holder slightly away from the camera when you are pulling the dark slide. A light leak at the bottom of the picture is happening at the top of the camera. I'd also look for light leak, it may be very small and hard to see.

Shooter
    Multi Format