Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 73,060   Posts: 1,611,320   Online: 1054

bvy

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images

Archiving Paper Negatives

I've been pinholing for two years now and have a good stack of paper negatives accumulating. And some, I think, are actually worth preserving! As they are now, they're starting to warp slightly. Hopefully they're not too far gone. In any case, I want to do something proper now in terms of indexing and storing them. So I have a couple questions:

1. What's the better method for storing these? I can get the PrintFile clear photo pages which hold two to four 5x7 negatives per page. Or I can get an archival box. (If it matters, this is Ilford RC paper.)

2. It would be good to write a number on the back of my print negatives, so I can match them to an entry in a spreadsheet I keep. At the same time, I want to have the option to contact print at a later date. My current approach is lightly writing in pencil on the back of the paper opposite a very dark part of the image. There has to be a better way.

Thank you!

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    What do you mean with 'they're starting to warp slightly'? That doesn't sound good.

Anyway, if you haven't done so already, I would give them a brief treatment of direct-sulphide toning and finish the protection with an image-silver stabilizer (Sistan). Then, store them in archival boxes, separated by archival paper and keep them at a cool dry place away from sunlight. This way, they will last for a long time.
    Regards

Ralph W. Lambrecht
    www.darkroomagic.comrorrlambrec@ymail.com[/URL]
    www.waybeyondmonochrome.com

bvy

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Thank you. Warp might be too strong a term. They don't sit perfectly flat. They're starting to curl along the short edge. It's very slight -- for now.

Shooter
    Plastic Cameras
    Images