Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,688   Posts: 1,548,761   Online: 1267

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Hello, I'm new

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images

Hello, I'm new

To pinhole photography.

I've got a 4x5 pinhole coming my way and I think I'd like to try and make some images on WPPD!

I've searched online and there seems to be lots and lots of information on these things, but I wanted to see if maybe you all had some suggestions for resources.

I am relatively new to film as well, so I don't have a darkroom and don't do my own developing. What type and or brand or film should I use? Is there one that performs better than the other for this type of shooting?

Any other good tips would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance!

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    I mostly use paper for negatives with my pinhole cameras. Its easier to deal with printing paper than film, you can develope by inspection under safelight, then scan or contact print for positive image.
    Rick A
    Argentum aevum

Shooter
    4x5 Format
    Images
    Depends on how you want to expose the film. Do you prefer slower speeds so your pinhole will be a minimal of 1 sec on a sunny day? Or do you want shorter? I ask, because as I've learned, exposing by hand....literally using my hand as a shutter...is tough with higher speed films.
    K.S. Klain

Shooter
    4x5 Format
    There is not a wrong film, high ASA or low ASA (ISO) will set the exposure time but really that's all. I shoot 100 or 400 ASA all the time. Make sure you use www.f295.org for your research, it is (in my humble opinion) the greatest pinhole (lensless) website.
    Ric Johnson
    Proud member of the League of Upper Midwest Pinholers & f295

"I think, therefore, I photograph."

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Quote Originally Posted by Rick A View Post