Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 71,849   Posts: 1,582,856   Online: 753

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Loading a Leica

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images

Loading a Leica

Although I've been enjoying using my Leica M6 for the lsat 3 years or so, I'm still having trouble loading the thing. I often have to open it up again after loading a new film to re-connect it to the spindle, and thus losing the first few frames. Sometimes it works fine, so I know its not a fault. What has prompted me to have a moan about this now, is that today I tried to rewind what I thought was a completed film which I'd been using for a month or so,but it jammed. I opened it up only to discover that it had never spooled forward in the first place but had scrunched up.
    Is it just me, or has anyone else had problems loading a Leica? The manual said something along the lines of 'the easiest loading method of any camera'. Not in my hands it isn't!

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Never had single problem with mine M6.

Just search in youtube "loading Leica M".

Shooter
    Medium Format
    I've had an m6 for a month or so. I can loaf it but not quickly. I find making sure the tongue is through both sides of the spool then making sure the sprockets are pulling the film holes properly works well. It doesn't bother me if i use a couple of frames at the beginning to ensure its properly engage. The leica is very good at getting 38 frames anyway!

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Load not loaf. Blooming predictive text

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Fold about 1/4" of the film over before loading, and hold the film firmly against the sprockets for the first stroke before shutting the back.

Better yet, trade your camera for an M2 or M3 and never have to worry again.

Shooter
    35mm RF
    It is not fumble proof