Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,331   Posts: 1,537,244   Online: 926

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images

Hi I am a new Rangfinder Fan

I have been shooting film for 5 years first with the EOS system, then FD, Nikkor and now I have entered the world of Rangefinder photography. I came into this world on a bittersweet level as I inherited a Leica M3 two-stroke from my dad who passed on recently. With that camera I got a 50/2 collapsable, a 90/4 collapsible and aftermarket 50/1.4 canon screwmount and I picked up a 35/2.5 Cos. Voightlander to round things off. The camera gets used as that is the way he wanted it. The first photo I took with the camera is my dad sitting with mom at the kitchen table, a shot I treasure. The other rangefinder in my bag is a Contax IIIa black dial with a 50/f2 lens from Kiev. The original Sonnar is MIA. I shoot with mostly Ilford Delta 400/100, sometimes Agfa APX and with colour its Fuji Superia all the way.
    Of the two cameras I find the M3 the easier camera to use, however I find shooting with the Contax IIIa addictive. I plan to carry that camera around a lot. I have a Kiev 3 on the way as present from my brother who loves his Warsaw Pact cameras and his Leica screwmounts. I am toying with another rangefinder, most likely Voightlander Bessa R2a, new Leicas are out of my league.

I still shoot in SLR with a Nikon F, Nikkormat FTn and Canon AE-1 but they don't come out as often.

Bill
    "Life moves pretty fast, if you don't stop and look around once and a while, you might just miss it."
    Ferris Bueller

Welcome Bill, I think you'll have fun here.

Shooter
    35mm RF
    Images
    That Leica setup is real nice. Now you can think about your father every time you take out the cameras.
    "When elephants fight it is the grass that suffers"
    African proverb